Doggedly Doglegging around Dogmersfield (Hampshire)

Feb03

29 people attending

1 places left

Your price
£0.00
Last booking date:
Event difficulty background shape EventDifficulty
Easy Moderate Very Hard
19 km / 12 miles

6 hours

Some information on places and landscapes:

Dogmersfield: A pleasant village of red-brick and timbered houses. The Queen's Head pub is named after Catherine of Aragon, first wife of Henry VIII, who is said to have stayed in the village with her first husband, Arthur, Prince of Wales, Henry's brother.

Dogmersfield Park: A large, plain brick house built in 1728 and since then becoming a Roman Catholic college and a hotel. The interest is mostly inside with some ornate stuccoed rooms remaining after a fire in 1981. A destroyed wing has been rebuilt in a clever copycat style but the blocks of guestrooms built since it became The Four Seasons Hotel look cheap. A formal garden is being developed and the grounds (by Eames) of sweeping lawns and pretty lakes with picturesque bridges are lovely. 

Odiham Common: Wood pasture of oak, holly and birch, reminiscent of the New Forest. King John's Hunting Lodge is a cottage orné built originally as an eyecatcher for Dogmersfield Park in the early 1720s in a whimsical 'gothick' style. Its ogee windows and Dutch gables hark back to the 1620s. At its core is a hunting lodge from the 1490s (so built for Henry VII rather than John).

Winchfield: The church of St Mary the Virgin is of 1170 and is tough and solid, standing alone. Opposite is The School House, now a private dwelling, by renowned Victorian architect William Burges. Its double-height windows are impressive.

Location

51.28495, -0.90696